Overview of the Awards Ceremony for 17th Asia Pacific Research Prize (Iue Prize)

Overview of the Prize and Selection Process

The Asia Pacific Research Prize (Iue Prize) was established in 2001 to reward outstanding dissertations written in the field of humanities or social sciences about the Asia Pacific region. The dissertations are written by Japanese and overseas students who have completed post-graduate studies and received doctorates from Japanese graduate schools. This year, we invited students who received doctorates after March 2015 to compete for the prize. This definition does include students who withdrew from a course, having completed the coursework after March 2015, and received doctorates afterward. As a result of the strict selection process conducted by the Selection Committee on the theses recommended and gathered from graduate schools all over Japan, Dr. Saki Kinnan’s dissertation, “A Sociological Study on Multicultural Coexistence in a Contact Zone: Focusing on Social Practices around a Gaikokujingakko (Foreign School)” and Dr. Miyoko Taniguchi’s dissertation, “Rethinking ‘Liberal Peacebuilding’ -The Case of Conflict, Violence, and Peace in Mindanao, the Philippines- ” were selected for a Commendation.


Overview of the Awards Ceremony

 At the Awards Ceremony on August 3 2018, the prizes were bestowed on the winners, Dr. Saki Kinnan and Dr. Miyoko Taniguchi by Awaji Conference Representative Director Satoshi Iue. Dr. Kinnan and Dr. Taniguchi received an award certificate and commemorative present for honorable mention. After the reasons for the selection were explained by the Selection Committee Chairman Yutaka Katayama (Professor Emeritus, Kobe University), each winner gave a speech.

Winner of 17th Asia Pacific Research Prize (Iue Prize) Winner of 17th Asia Pacific Research Prize (Iue Prize)
Back to Top